Get immediate access to the checklists, worksheets, and overviews you need if you or someone you care about is injured.
Snowmobile Safety Tips
If you prefer to enjoy Minnesota's winter wonderland on the back of a snowmobile, follow these essential safety tips and keep your season accident-free.
- The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that children under age 16 not operate snowmobiles and that children under age 6 never ride on snowmobiles.
- Do not use a snowmobile to pull a sled or skiers.
- Always wear a helmet, eye protection and proper clothing.
- Travel at safe speeds.
- Never use alcohol or other drugs before or during snowmobiling.
- Never snowmobile alone.
- Stay on marked trails, away from roads, water, railroads and pedestrians.
- Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets - and never cross open water.
Get to know MN Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Rules
- You must register your snowmobile with MN DNR in person at any deputy registrar of motor vehicles. The cost is under $50.
- A snowmobile State Trail sticker is required for all snowmobiles operating on state trails.
- Safety Certification is required by law for anyone born after Dec. 31, 1976.
- If you or someone you know has been involved in a snowmobile accident that resulted in an injury requiring medical attention, death or damage of more than $500, you must file an official accident report with the Department of Natural Resources within 48 hours of the accident.
- Download current Minnesota Snowmobile regulations and find a current schedule of safety training courses at www.dnr.state.mn.us/snowmobiling.
Minnesota has 278,886 registered snowmobiles, the second highest number in the nation behind Michigan which has 374,522.